Final Days in Seoul

We had two other day trips in Seoul that I will describe, and one incident that was too funny not to share. I’ll start with that.

Jenn took me to the Namdaemun traditional market in another of Seoul’s neighborhoods, where there were hundreds of street vendors, sidewalk sales and stores in a several block area. It looked like a good place to finish up my souvenir/gift shopping. I told her to go pick up Liana from preschool, and that I would find my way home on the subway. It was great fun, I was finally becoming adept at buying things with the South Korean won (currency), and was even able to talk a vendor down on the price of an item.

When I got back, I was excited to show Jenn and the girls all of my great buys – including an adorable Minion onesie for my 2-month-old grandson, Carter. Jenn burst into laughter and opened the package to show me that what I had actually purchased was a dog outfit! The girls were thrilled when we decided that their dog, Dewey, would be the recipient of this gift. Sorry Carter – you’re getting socks.

Anyone that knows our family also knows that we love zoos. So one of our excursions was a visit to the Seoul Zoo.  The zoo had just reopened after being closed due to bird flu, and on the day we visited they were still doing a lot of season-opening construction work. Nonetheless we enjoyed the day, especially the lion exhibit. Our timing was just right to see them being fed. We also had ice cream in a little snack shop within the lion enclosure (accessed by a bridge). Lions sat right beside the windows and we could even look down through a glass floor to see them walk underneath us. A unique experience!

Eric and I spent my last Friday at The Garden of Morning Calm, one the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen. (That is saying a lot since I frequently visit the beautiful Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, PA, near our home.) A warm sunny day, with the cherry blossoms, tulips and azaleas in bloom, was a perfect time to visit.

DSC01883The garden is located about 1.5 hours northeast of Seoul in a mountainous area of Korea. It was a delight to leave the modern city and highways behind and drive through small towns and villages. This Gyeonggi-do area is popular for Seoul vacationers as well as foreign tourists, and reminded me a little of the Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania.Fondue Eric and I stopped for lunch at one of several cheese fondue restaurants on the road to the garden. I did not expect fondue in Korea, but of course it came with meat grilled at your table and sides of kimche and other condiments.

Eric and his family have visited the gardens several times, including during the winter season when they decorate the gardens with millions of lights and ornaments. It is made up of many individually themed gardens, greenhouses, tea houses and an art gallery.  It is the oldest private Korean garden, with elements of oriental and modern design.

Eric and I spent several hours exploring the gardens and taking many, many photos. Here are some of mine. Please note that there was also a coffee shop. I have never been in an area that loved coffee more!

Even with two weeks in Seoul, it was still not enough time to see everything. One evening we went out for delicious fried chicken in the Dongdaemun area, where Korea’s domestic fashion design is centered. It has become a center of international design. We did not stay late enough to explore their night market, which doesn’t open until 9 pm every night and closes at dawn. The Dongdaemun Design Plaza, used for fashion shows and exhibitions, looked like a giant space ship.

We did not visit the Gangnam-Apujeong area of Seoul, which is the richest area of the city with high end stores. Not being a fashionista, I was content to miss that shopping experience.  I was surprised that Seoul is also a mecca for skin care and beauty supplies, with shops everywhere. I had to buy a larger suitcase to bring home all the treasures I found. I also kept thinking how much my sisters (who are much more into shopping than I am) would have loved Seoul.

We spent most of our time in the Itaewon shopping district, which is the neighborhood just outside the Army post. I read that this is the area to go if you want to buy a custom-tailored suit, and there were also beautiful fancy dress shops. (The girls love to window-shop there.) We stopped at the neighborhood McDonalds, which was very modern and looked more like a Starbucks. I enjoyed a delicious shrimp-burger, which should be added to the menu at home. We also enjoyed the American-style pancake house in this neighborhood, and the churros and ice cream shop is a Sipos-family favorite.

At last, it was time to say goodbye to Seoul – and sadly to Eric, Jenn, Liana and Willow. (I probably won’t see them again until they return to the US early next year). Although a trip to Japan was on my list of “must-see countries”, South Korea would never had made the list if the US Air Force hadn’t deployed Eric there with his family.  It was a wonderful discovery, with such a mixture of ancient and modern, danger and calm.  I felt a true connection to the South Korean people, and I pray that some day the problems in North Korea will be resolved and their dream of a peaceful unified country comes true.

My next blog post will be a slideshow. It will probably take a few weeks to get that together. From there – more retirement adventures… Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a comment